The 62 hornbill species of the world are distributed in Africa (30 species) and Asia (32 species). In Indonesia, Sumatra Island has the highest number of hornbill species with nine species, followed by Kalimantan Island with eight species and Java Island with three species. The Wallacea Region and Papua are home to four hornbill species, three of which are endemic: Sumba hornbill (Rhyticeros everetti), knobbed hornbill (Rhyticeros cassidix) and Sulawesi hornbill (Rhabdotorrhinus exarhatus).